Skip to content

pesto tortellini salad

July 5, 2014

pesto tortellini saladSeveral summers ago, it seemed to be the summer of potlucks and barbecues. Every single one I went to were laden with tubs of store bought potato salad or gooey mayonnaise-laden pasta salads alongside endless bags of chips. I really wanted to find something that would be different, healthy, and could withstand sitting on a hot picnic table for hours without potentially giving my friends food poisoning.

I can’t exactly remember where I nabbed this recipe from – if it was in one of my many recipe card collections, or something I stumbled across in one of my cooking magazines, but it has become my go-to recipe for summer salads, potlucks, or just a quick and hearty dinner.

For this meal, you’ll need:

1 – 9 oz package of tortellini (you can find it in the deli section of the grocery store or in the freezer section), cooked to package directions

1 – carton of grape or cherry tomatoes

1 – 6 oz jar marinated artichoke hearts

1 – 6 oz tub of pesto (also found in the deli section, usually next to the packaged tortellini)

1 – large broccoli crown, cut into bite sized pieces

Parmesan cheese, to taste

Salt & pepper, to taste

And this is my favorite part: dump all of the above ingredients into a big bowl and mix together. You can serve up right away or refrigerate. I find that it’s delicious when the tortellini is still warm, but it’s always better the second day.

Do you have a favorite summer barbecue side that you always serve up?

 

Comments are closed.

