Skip to content

The Undomestic Goddess

March 8, 2014

51coyK2jj0L._SY344_PJlook-inside-v2,TopRight,1,0_SH20_BO1,204,203,200_

Dear Sophie Kinsella, I heart you. I first discovered you by randomly picking up Confessions of a Shopaholic in an airport. I loved that book because I could totally relate to Rebecca, but as it turns out, you have a way with characters that most writers would even dream of.

The entire time I spent reading The Undomestic Goddess, I could actually empathize with Samantha, even though I have no idea how one would get along as an adult not knowing how to cook or clean. By the middle of the book, I was so in love with each and every character that I hoped all would work out. Kinsella is so wonderful with the vivid words she uses to write with that you can actually envision yourself in the midst of the scene. In fact, I envision Linda Cardinelli’s character in Legally Blonde when I envision Melissa.

This is a light-hearted weekend/beach/vacation read that you’ll love. I really do hope that Kinsella writes a sequel because (spoiler alert) I do hope to see what transpires between Samantha and Nathaniel.

Comments are closed.

