Skip to content

Mournfully grateful

March 7, 2012

I have spent most of the day in an utter panic. The flood waters are rising and I can’t see the shore anymore.

But when I logged in to Facebook this evening to find that one of my dear friends I’ve known since 7th grade will likely pass any time now, well…all of my problems seem trivial and temporary.

Chances are, I’ll be attending her funeral when I head back to Flagstaff at the end of the month. I just can’t believe it.

Honestly, she’s the closest person I’ve ever had pass away in my life. All of the relatives I’ve lost I barely knew, so their passing wasn’t all that much of a loss to me.

But Christina is one of those people that I met by accident (literally) and we stayed tight through some of the most trying times of our lives. We lost touch after high school, but reunited, thanks to the lovely world of Facebook.

Sad to think that is probably how I will hear of her passing when the time comes.

Comments are closed.

