Skip to content

Get with it already

March 28, 2011

I realize that I probably shouldn’t apologize for my quiet streaks. I mean, hey. It’s my blog. I can write whenever I feel like it. But I still feel guilty about the handful of you that have yet to discover Google Reader and compulsively check back for new goods every few days. I’m sorry to disappoint.

I’ve been a little busy. I’ve been quietly throwing a tantrum of epic proportions. You see, six weeks or so ago, I headed to Denver, knowing that it would be for a few weeks, seeing as I had committed to a gazillion projects, events, outings, and get-togethers (you name it, I had it on the agenda) with the expectation that I would have moved back in January. And every day I stayed, I managed to find a reason to stay another day. And now it’s the end of March. I’ve been back in Flagstaff a grand total of four days over that time period, two of which were together.

I still don’t have a job or a permanent residence and I really don’t care. I have become like my four year old, refusing to do something I don’t want to do. So I’ve dug my heels in and here I sit, refusing to leave the place that has become home to me.

And honestly, things are working out. The photography business is slowly picking up. While I would rather it be more immediate work, at least the pipeline is filling up for the spring and summer. Now if I could just find a job in the meantime, life would be grand. And that’s all I want – a J.O.B. Something that I can walk out of in a year when I am making enough to support myself on photography income. Funny thing — employers don’t want to hear that you have an exit strategy in the interview. The other thing I’ve learned is that I am a terrible liar.

Eh, whatever. It’ll all work out. Right? It will.

2 Comments
  1. March 28, 2011 11:19 am

    I love, love, love that you’re refusing to say no and also that you’re here. And when are we going to the park?

    • March 28, 2011 11:58 am

      Yes. I feel like such a brat, but refuse to give up. To quote my mom, “come hell or highwater” I will win!

Comments are closed.

