Skip to content

It has been entirely too long since I’ve posted

January 31, 2011

I had nothing but the best of intentions for writing in December. I did. I really did. But then things got crazy when I went to Michigan to shoot a wedding the week before Christmas and it was all downhill from there.

So, to sum up in the briefest way humanly possible, December was okay.

Michigan was fun. It was probably the best wedding I’ve ever been to. I froze my hiney off, but I survived. I would even go back. And, I am crossing #42 off the list. The bride & groom are from Colorado, they wed in a tourist town in MI. It counts. Granted, I was thinking something like Hawaii when I wrote it, but it counts.

Christmas was OK. While I was in Michigan, my sister and I had a huge spat and we’ve pretty much not talked unless we have to ever since. I don’t really want to get into it, but it wasn’t pretty.

The day after Christmas, I came down with the death germs that have been hanging out in the house since early December and I spent the next three days horizontal on the couch. And then I spent the next few knitting like mad, since I couldn’t do much of anything else.

The new year came in without much fanfare, but at least it’s off to a better start. Or maybe I just feel better about it all. I’m still unemployed and with super limited income, but for some reason, I’m not stressed about it. At. All. This is a new thing for me. The job hunt – well, it sucks. I have had ZERO luck with any job opportunities in Flagstaff (which is fine) and not much in Denver. A friend of mine did get me an interview with her company in Seattle – which, I’ll be honest. The job is amazing, although I’m grossly unqualified, but I just don’t want to move back to Seattle. So I’m kinda praying that I DON’T get offered the job because I have no idea what I would do if I did get it.

Other than that, the photography has been slow, I’ve been knitting up a storm, and I’m pretty sure I have shingles. I would go to the doctor to be sure, but they are almost gone now and since I have no job, no money, and no insurance, so unless I take a turn for the worse, I’m sucking it up for now.

Okay, so this wasn’t as happy a post as I had hoped. But really, a month into 2011 and I’m doing okay.

2 Comments
  1. cassee01 permalink
    February 8, 2011 10:18 am

    glad you are feeling better!

  2. mary permalink
    February 12, 2011 9:41 am

    Well, it’s feb now and I hope you are better. My dad had something like the shingles when we lived out there. but I don’t know if that is what it was. I hope 2011 is going as well as you would like, and I hope you and your family are doing well.

Comments are closed.

