Skip to content

It takes a village

December 7, 2010
tags:

I was so ridiculously excited when I saw today’s #Reverb10 prompt, I couldn’t even figure out where I was going to start.

Community. The discovery of the meaning of this word in the past couple of years is really what I can attribute the changes I’ve been through to.

When I first moved to Denver, I started this blog. It was intended to keep my friends and family updated on my life so I didn’t have to email everyone all the time. I kind of suck at correspondence. Funny thing – none of my friends or family read the blog. But I found a whole new community of awesome in Kimberly, Sondra, Pam, Sprizee and Egan.While I have yet to meet any of these amazing bloggers, I consider them all dear friends as they have been there, offering support and praise in times of hurt and joy.

Three years ago, I began attending Denver Community Church. Having grown up in the church and then been badly scorned, it took a lot for me to walk through those doors. The result was to learn the true meaning of the word community. Never have I been so openly accepted and supported by a group of people in my life.

I watched a hundred people show up to bring gifts to residents in a nursing home and celebrate Christmas with them. I enjoyed many days working on Habitat for Humanity sites with people who were more than excited to be there. I had a member of my small group fill my pantry with groceries and toiletries when she knew I didn’t have the money to buy them myself.

The most incredible thing was that when I went to all my new church friends and told them I was moving to Flagstaff, none of them treated me like it was anything less than what I needed to do. And they have all kept in touch and included me on everything they’ve been doing as if I hadn’t been gone.

A year ago, I finally broke down and started tweeting. I’ve ‘met’ some fantastic folks who have become this amazingly cool community of fellow photographers, industry peeps and all around darn cool people. I find it hilarious that I’ve built an entire network of friends and colleagues, even after posting this, my very first tweet. Library of Congress, jump on that.

Mostly, being such a social butterfly has allowed me to enjoy the crossover between my online community and the real world. It’s been a nice blend that has done nothing but enhance my life.

Walden Pond, you can have your solitude, community rocks.

3 Comments
  1. December 8, 2010 8:05 am

    It is a joy to be part of your community. Out of the 1000 or so followers I have, there are about 15 to 20 I actually correspond with and you are one of them. I enjoy your tweets as well as dualing on foursquare for Staples and Pita Jungle. :)

    • December 8, 2010 8:54 am

      I am laughing out loud over here. I love being a part of this local Twitter group – we rock!

  2. Sondra permalink
    December 8, 2010 11:52 am

    I agree–community is ESSENTIAL! We were created for relationships and community and without it, every aspect of life suffers. Great post!

Comments are closed.

