Skip to content

Cloud 9. And a half. Okay, 10.

July 12, 2010

Today has been a ridiculously fantastic day. It started out well. I woke up to a photography inquiry in my in-box. But it wasn’t just any photography inquiry – it was a referral from a client that was not happy with me a month ago. (It wasn’t my fault that she wasn’t happy, she signed the contract and the two addendum, and failed to keep her end of the deal, so there should have been no surprises. BUT…the customer’s always right. Even when they’re wrong.)

Anyway. A referral from a past disgruntled client is good. Means they weren’t so disgruntled after all. I popped out a quote before taking Alissa to school, and on my way back, called another prospect to discuss the portrait situation.

Turns out, they want some major portrait work done. Like a few families and a senior portrait and possibly some newborn work…oh, and did I mention they want to do it in California? Yeah baby. I talked to the mother of the family for twenty minutes and I love her already. Can’t wait to see what we come up with.

After that, I cashed in my payment for the stock work I did for Stay Tuned Therapeutics – a 90 minute facial/massage. Oh. My. Let’s just say that I will definitely be booking one of these after every event from now on. Amazing.

I put in a bid to do the preschool’s portraits this fall. Although I made it clear that I was going to be doing them my way, not boring old school photos. We’ll see what they say. I hope they say yes. That will make for a very busy fall for me. Which will afford me a new camera before my Michigan wedding in December.

Then I talked to my web guy about doing a site re-design. I was really excited about the ideas that we had batted around and I look forward to the project coming together.

I was on such a business high that I finally was able to cross #91 off The List. I did it. I am officially a member of the Professional Photographer’s Association. I’ve been on the fence about it for a long time and I have heard nothing but good things about the variety of opportunities to learn and grow with this organization. Some photographers say it’s not necessary, but I think it will prove to be beneficial to me as I grow in this field.

After that, I sweat my hiney off at the gym.

I am really looking forward to Saturday, when I get to do an engagement shoot up in Colorado and see my friends. I am a little bummed that we won’t make it to Aspen as planned, but I am determined to make Pueblo look just as cool. Even though it’s not.

Comments are closed.

