Skip to content

Happy.

May 23, 2010

I’m happy today. Happy because I’m thinking back to what a great day Friday was.

Friday, I spent my day off in Phoenix with Dan. Well, I didn’t spend my whole day off. He had a meeting and I had to, well drive there, but we did get to spend a few hours of the day together. Some would say that it seems strange to drive 167 miles to see someone you’re not even sure you’re serious about, just to spend three hours with them and drive back, but it didn’t seem strange at all.

In fact, it felt magically right.

As I drove home Friday afternoon, glad to escape the sweltering heat that is Phoenix, while wondering if it was the ginger broccoli or the potstickers that gave me the horrendous indigestion that made the trip home uncomfortable, I thought about what attracted me to Dan so much. I liked him the minute I met him. And two months later, we went on the most perfect first date ever.

Two hours and fifteen minutes later, I still can’t put a finger on it. But for once in my life, I don’t feel like I have to. I don’t feel like I have to explain or justify my relationship with him in terms that anyone needs to understand, as I have in the past  – “Sure, he’s not great looking, but he’s a really talented writer.” or “I know he’s only 5’3″, but he opens my car door!” or “Yes, he’s completely massacred my heart on many occasions, but I love him.”

He still hasn’t even passed the best friend test (where my best friend meets any guy that I could possibly be serious about and gives me a thumbs up or down before I allow myself to get totally heartbroken. This was enacted after my marriage blew up in my face on the grounds that she knew he was all wrong for me when she met him. I however, have to argue that I was sad and vulnerable when I agreed to such a test and feel that I must invalidate the measure.) – because I won’t let her meet him. Mostly because I know that she’ll veto him because she has some idea in her mind of what the perfect guy for me is. Problem is, we strongly disagree on the qualifications. So until we’re officially a couple, she doesn’t get to meet him. And by then, it won’t matter.

For once, I don’t even care how I would answer the question, “so what do you see in him?” because I don’t know. I just like him. Because I do. He makes me happy. And he makes me want to drive 167 miles (one way) just to spend a few hours watching SportsCenter with him. And that’s all that really matters, right?

One Comment
  1. mary permalink
    May 25, 2010 9:39 am

    You know Eunice that is just like Me and Doug. I love him for what he has inside not what is on the out side. I love him for his un knows. I love him for just being him. It’s that kind of guy that I love. yes the out side is nice to have but my God, he is losing his hair. And why would I want to go out with a guy like that. He is over weight. We have been going out for ever.

    He and I have been though so much and I love him for all the things that is on the in side.
    So I say go for it!!

Comments are closed.

