Skip to content

#47 – Keep a fresh flower arrangement every day for a month

April 26, 2010

© eunice brownlee 2010

I love fresh flowers. They make me happy. Especially on the heels of the winter we just had – I was ready for spring. So I decided it was high time to fulfill goal #47 on The 101 List.

It started with the bunch of daffodils we bought for St. Patrick’s Day. Alissa helped me pick out the prettiest bunch in the store (I was sure to teach her all about choosing an arrangement that still had buds yet to bloom so they last longer), and then proceeded to run the blooms the entire length of my filthy car. I managed to clean most of them up so they still looked nice, but I couldn’t believe that she did that.

The second arrangement was a bunch of candy pink tulips, followed by lilies for Easter (which my sister actually bought), and rounded out by a mixed floral arrangement.

I came home last week to see that Alissa had decided, “because mommy loves flowers,” to pick out her own arrangement for my birthday. It’s the first time I’d gotten flowers for my birthday since I was married. It was a nice surprise.

I really enjoy having fresh flowers around the house. They lift my spirit, they smell nice, and they seem to make even a cluttered room feel like home. While I probably won’t freak out if there’s a chance the current arrangement could die before I get a new one into the vase, I think I’ll keep the tradition going.

I have plenty of vases, after all.

2 Comments
  1. mary permalink
    April 27, 2010 3:37 pm

    You know I should start my own 101 list. But I can follow you on your checking off on your list. I really like this time of year. The trees are in bloom and it just feels like winter is gone for good.

    • April 27, 2010 3:39 pm

      You should start your own list! I would be interested to see what you’d have on yours.

Comments are closed.

