Skip to content

They say it’s your birthday

April 20, 2010

Today was a great day. It made me think about many birthdays past, both good and bad.

20 years ago – I was celebrating a wonderful birthday at Disney World, seeing my grandpa and his (now ex) wife for the first time in years, and rocking the awesome socks with sandals look. I only wish I had a picture to share. I met Mickey Mouse, what did I care?

15 years ago – It was snowing. A blizzard. Major. My brother and sister were having sleepovers elsewhere and my mom was mad that I got butter pecan instead of chocolate ice cream.

10 years ago – I was enjoying my first (legal) beer with some coworkers in downtown Flagstaff. I was having a blast. So much so, that I missed my dinner reservations with my (then) fiancee.

5 years ago – I was received my divorce papers in the mail. I had a pretty crappy day all around.

1 year ago- I had a complete meltdown, packed a few things in a bag, got in the car and drove to Flagstaff. Turned out to be one of the best decisions I’ve made in a long time.

Today was a fabulous day filled with fabulous friends. Overall, a great day.

Thanks to all of you that sent wishes or happy thoughts my way. You helped make my day feel special.

One Comment
  1. mary permalink
    April 21, 2010 7:33 am

    You know “we” do it because you are a very special friend and person. So Happy birthday to a very special friend.

Comments are closed.

