Skip to content

Hallmark – my best friend and nemesis

April 14, 2010

I’m addicted to greeting cards. I can literally go into a card store and spend hours reading each and every card. I love to send cards, I love to get cards, I think greeting cards rule.

But Hallmark cards – those are the best. No matter what you need to say or how you want to say it, there are a hundred cards to look through and choose from to say just what you want to say, the way you want to say it.

I’m reminiscent of a card that my ex-husband got for me when he was trying to apologize for being in love with someone else. He got me a card with a raggy teddy bear on the front, pouting and flopped over. It was blank inside. Alluding to my love for both teddy bears and my love for perfect Hallmark cards, he wrote inside that they must make the blank cards for the occasion that someone needs to write “I’m a horrible and pathetic person.”

Today, I found myself at Hallmark, wanting to buy a card to send to a friend, but was challenged in picking one out. It seems that there were several cards that communicated what I felt, but had that one odd line that made the gist feel totally cheesy and generic. How I wished for one of those blank cards today.

I’ve been kind of tortured lately, between telling someone how I really feel about the situation that they are in and just keeping my mouth shut. I was kind of hoping that I’d find the perfect card to convey my emotion on the matter. I didn’t. I found two cards that would work, but wished I could blend them into one. Maybe I should just send them both.

3 Comments
  1. Brynne permalink
    April 15, 2010 12:31 am

    How about making your own card? I bet you have (or could take) a picture that conveys exactly what you’re looking for… Time permitting, of course.

    • April 15, 2010 8:56 am

      Hmm…there’s an idea, I suppose. It’s more the words than anything. I know I shouldn’t rely on Hallmark to tell someone that I care, but they’ve been there for me for years! ha ha

Trackbacks

  1. So the writing thing is going well « as life flutters by…

Comments are closed.

