Skip to content

I forgot how much I love Sedona

April 11, 2010

Yesterday, I hosted a group of mini sessions at Tlaquepaque in Sedona. Tlaquepaque (pronounced tuh-la-keh-pa-key) is an art community that is housed among some really gorgeous adobe and tile buildings. I am going to have to go back down there this week just to shoot because I didn’t manage to get any personal shots in yesterday.

It’s just a pretty little place filled with fountains and plants and beautiful, stunning artwork. There were three weddings taking place at the time as well, and we did our best to stay out of the way.

Sedona has changed and grown, and it’s still overrun with tourists, but man, is it beautiful. When I was in high school, the 30-minute drive down the hill was where we escaped to when we’d ditch school (something I didn’t do much of until my senior year), especially when the weather started to get really nice. It was great to just lay out on the Red Rocks, enjoy a picnic lunch, and swim wade in the creek. Then we’d hike around some trails and just enjoy the afternoon.

Aside from the horrible sewer smell and widened split highway into town, Sedona was mostly as I remembered it. Pretty rocks, bustling trees, sound of the creek. It was a great day. I got some great photos that I will be posting on my photography blog shortly.

One Comment
  1. mary permalink
    April 12, 2010 9:37 am

    You know I loved that place also. It was always fun getting down there. Yet I loved the colors and the differt places to go and take pitchers. I think that it was the number two kind of pitchers for fall that I have loved. Number one is always the aspen trees in flag

Comments are closed.

