Skip to content

Hypnosis help

April 5, 2010

If you’ve been reading my blog for some time, you know that I was seeing a hypnotherapist for a period after my divorce, and then again when I was pregnant. I’ve actually become friends with my therapist since then, and have enjoyed learning more about the mind-body connection. It really is fascinating, and hypnosis is an experience I cannot describe in words.  It’s like explaining the love a parent feels for a child – you can use words to describe it, but only someone who has experienced it genuinely understands how amazing it is.

I talk openly about my experience with hypnosis, even though it draws a lot of strange looks and blank stares. People that are into yoga, Reiki, psychology, or naturopathic medicine usually listen intently to my stories about giving birth comfortably without meds and dealing with anger, hurt, and learning to confront my demons. Everyone else I’m sure thinks I’m nuts. It usually comes with a lot of questions, such as, “how is that possible?” and comments like, “that is unbelievable.”

There’s a certain stigma surrounding hypnosis that is probably the reason for this. When you say, “hypnosis,” most people think of a magic act where a pretty girl clad in a cocktail dress quacks like a duck in front of a room full of strangers. A lot of people think that it’s some sort of mind control, but really, it’s just a tool used to connect with your inner self.

Today, I received an email from Shari, asking me to speak with a potential client about my experience with hypnosis. I was thrilled and flattered that she had thought of me.  I look forward to talking with this woman and sharing my experience with her, and hope she decides to try it for herself.

Comments are closed.

