Skip to content

What the 101 list is all about

April 3, 2010

I mentioned in my 101 list that several of the photogs I met last summer had completed this exercise – to make a list of 101 goals to complete over 1001 days. For you math whizzes out there, that’s just shy of three years, or one goal every ten days. Now some of my goals are certainly lofty, especially to achieve in the next few years, but they can be done. I have to reserve the right to re-evaluate the list and revise, I suppose.

The reason this exercise was so fascinating to me is that I have heard it said that people who write down their goals are nine times more likely to achieve them than those that don’t. Nine times!! Wow. I think there’s some level of not only accountability that comes with writing them down, but a sense of accomplishment that comes from crossing it off. Plus, I’m a dreamer – I have an entire fantasy world in my head. Don’t we all?

I listed them in no particular order, it’s just the way they came out when I was thinking about it. I actually had one of my (many) notebooks in my purse for a few weeks while I thought of them, writing each one down until I had 101. I noticed a definite trend towards travel – probably because a) I love to travel and b) I haven’t done much of it since I had a kid (cost of travel being double and all…). But I have a lot of friends that I have in different places that I would like to see one of these days. So yes. Lots of travel.

I also have a lot of goals geared towards my photography business. In 2004, I photographed my first wedding and decided I definitely wanted to be a photographer when I grew up. I have only sort of worked toward that goal, mostly due to limiting factors such as money and time, but I am constantly disappointed with myself when I see many friends pick up photography and do something with it. As in, they make money. I want to be that person too. That’s what all the photography stuff is all about.

I mostly wanted to do this because I’m a huge procrastinator. And I mean major. It is, perhaps, one of my biggest weaknesses. I’m hoping that, by trying to accomplish so much in a relatively short period of time, I will learn not to put off until tomorrow.

So I’m excited to see what comes of all of this.

I encourage you to wonder what you would put on your own list and see what comes out! 101 too much? Start with ten that you can accomplish in a year.

Here are the rules:

1. Tasks must be specific with a result that is measurable and clearly defined. If you can’t determine that you hit you goal (i.e. get as many Facebook fans as I can) , or if it’s ambiguous (I want to travel), what’s the point?

2. Tasks must represent some amount of stretching — it is not designed to be a long “To-Do List.” Get creative. Think of things you WANT to accomplish, not things that you must do.

3. Publicly post it for the world to see. We’ll keep you accountable and cheer you on. Promise.

Comments are closed.

