Skip to content

I did it!

April 1, 2010

Well folks, I know you have all been watching my downward spiral over the past couple of years, up to and including the moment about a year ago that I needed to take a step back and re-evaluate my life. I think I actually knew long before I admitted it out loud that I needed to stop, but pride, gosh darn it, got the better of me.

I didn’t come back home easily or with a glad heart. And I know that I have bitched about it being difficult and miserable. Some days, it still is.

But I persevered.

I recently took a job, solely because of where I thought it would get me in life, that wasn’t the best offer on the table, or even the first. It was funny how I spent six weeks applying for jobs and interviewing and desperately trying to find a job with no luck, and one day, as I was driving up to Denver, I got three offers between Flagstaff and Santa Fe. I spent the weekend chewing it over, and decided to accept the position that not only was the lowest-paying, it was a part-time gig to boot. But it had the most potential.

And for those of you that know that I’ve had as many jobs as I’ve had addresses in the past four years (a LOT), to have potential is the key to me finding happiness.

My gamble paid off.

On Sunday, I was asked to step into a full-time role and work more directly with the marketing department of our company. Marketing!! I gladly said yes, figuring that it would be more of the same type of work I’ve been doing the past couple of weeks. Today, I learned that I am taking on a full-fledged assistant role and will be responsible for not only the design of print materials, but getting our social media presence going!

It only took me two years, but I finally cracked into the field I’ve been trying to break for some time. That feels amazing.

Sometimes, you have to take a step back before you can move forward.

One Comment
  1. mary permalink
    April 1, 2010 9:15 am

    I have to say that I am very happy for you. Even when we were talking the other night. I could tell you were very very happy about this. And now that you wrote about it I am even more happy for you. So, dream big, the sky is the lemit.

Comments are closed.

