Skip to content

Major Fail.

March 28, 2010

Yesterday morning, I decided it would be fun to catch my Dodgers play one of their last spring training games, now that they play in AZ. I packed Alissa in the car, along with all of our Dodger gear and took her to the Valley to experience her first ever Dodger game.

When I first found out that I was having a girl four years ago, I bought a pink Dodger hat for her, knowing that it would be a few years before she grew into it and was old enough to take to a game. She wore her little hat proudly yesterday and was filled with excitement as we made our way to the stadium. She was so cute and I was stoked.

As we sat in traffic, waiting to get into the parking lot, I saw a sign on one corner – “event sold out.” No. No. No…this can’t be happening. Sold out? Who cares about a stupid spring training game?

Well, me and ten thousand other people. I combed the parking lot and couldn’t even find so much as a scalper to scrounge a couple of extra tickets. So I turned the car around. When I had to tell Alissa what happened, she lost it.

An all out temper tantrum ensued, crying, screaming and kicking included. “Mom! I want to go to the baseball game! I wanna go! I wanna gooooooooooooooooooooo!!” More crying and screaming, a couple of huffs and then in the most disdainful voice possible, “Mom, you’ve ruined my first Dodger game.”

Okay, that was a knife straight to the heart.

I didn’t even think to buy tickets ahead of time. I had thought about maybe going a few weeks ago, but didn’t know for sure if I could. I’m used to buying tickets to Rockies games, where you can walk up five minutes before the game and have your pick of the best seats in the house. I didn’t expect at all that the event would be sold out.

Fortunately, I was able to rectify the situation with lunch at Red Robin and a dip in the pool, but I tell you, I felt like the world’s worst mom. On the bright side, I am now prepared so I don’t screw up the trip I have planned for Disneyland next summer.

2 Comments
  1. mary permalink
    March 28, 2010 4:10 pm

    You don’t want to have a little one even more up set for Disneyland. It’s the best place on earth.

Trackbacks

  1. Oh how I love baseball « as life flutters by…

Comments are closed.

