Skip to content

Okay, so I’m freaking out

November 3, 2009

There is one thing that I have learned about myself this past few months. I do NOT handle stress well. Okay, so maybe I knew that already. But seriously. Shortened breath, sweating, prone to completely unnecessary panic. These are all things that I experience when I am stressed.

My show opens on Friday. I can’t believe it already opens Friday! That is absolutely insane. Granted, I didn’t get all the time in the world to prepare, but I feel like I am not ready. Well, the fact that I know I’m supposed to leave Flagstaff for Denver at no later than 7 am on Thursday to be on time Friday afternoon to hang all my pieces and I know that my new phone* delivers to my house in Flagstaff on Thursday afternoon. Murphy.

I also have a ton of stuff still to do before the art show that I’m organizing takes place on the 14th. The good news, I did such a good job in coordinating massive marketing efforts that there seems to be a fair amount of buzz about the show. The bad news, everyone wants to help spread the word, so my phone is ringing off the hook for information. I only hope we order enough food & wine. It’s a good problem to have, right?

And, since I have been supporting my photography habit (which really should be the move back to Denver fund) with money that I have earned working for what can only be deemed as the world’s most effed up company (I won’t name names, but if you live in Illinois or Missouri and contribute to a 403(b) plan and don’t know the company I work for, and all four phone numbers to reach us by heart, then you are living under a rock), I’ve been a little stressed lately.

But basically, I’m not ready for the next week. At all. Ugh.

*so the other day, I went to use my phone, only to discover that it was ridiculously hot and starting to smoke. I don’t know what caused it, but the battery overheated, thus, beginning to melt the inside of my phone. Replacement phone does not arrive, of course, until Thursday because I live in the damn boonies (okay, so Flagstaff is the third or fourth largest city in the state, but to me, it feels like the sticks), and because I need to leave on Thursday. It’s a conspiracy, I tell you, and not having my trusty sidekick, well, BlackBerry really, by my side 24/7 (literally, I do sleep with the thing under my pillow) for the past 48 hours has been complete and utter torture. I so need to go back to 1996 when I was begging my mom for a pager because waiting for my friends to call me was simply inconceivable (I didn’t get one).

One Comment
  1. November 7, 2009 8:57 am

    hey 1996 was the best year of my life. Well for school and all. I did have to move on with out my good friends to the thing called college buy myself. but live and learn. Come on a Pager?! that is all you were going for. I don't think I was even looking at a phone until we moved here. Man we did live in the sticks, :)

Comments are closed.

