Skip to content

I know it’s been a month

July 9, 2009

Well, I didn’t really know that until I logged in to post that I am not dead. Those of you who are on Facebook probably know that is my most recent obsession, so if you really want to know how I’m doing, you can stalk me there. And become a fan of Eunice Brownlee Photography while you’re at it, will ya? I’m trying to hit 1000 fans already.

So yeah, not dead. Life is good outside of the regularity of family drama, which is something that reminds me almost daily why I chose to move 700 miles away from all of it. But it’s been an awesome summer. I have put close to 9000 miles on my car in the past two months (How’s that for depreciation folks) and have spent countless hours in said car driving between Denver, Flagstaff, and Phoenix (plus one completely unexciting trip to Williams). I love my car, but in August, I’m trading in the windshield time for a plane ticket. I just don’t have it in me seeing as that’s a 12 hour drive I need to make twice in 5 days every two weeks through September. I don’t think my little car can handle it.

As for the photography, I have managed to spend time photographing any and every event I can manage. I spent a day with a bunch of foresters two weeks ago, and last night, I narrowly avoided getting kicked in the head on multiple occasions by a bunch of dancers. I did hit a point a month ago where I was shooting in the blaring hot Phoenix sun for close to two hours and was pretty sure I was going to have a seizure at one point. The good news: my hand no longer cramps up when I’ve been shooting non-stop for hours on end. That is, until I upgrade my camera this fall and invest in a battery pack. I’m going to have to start working out so my hands and arms can manage.

Ahh, the life of a photographer. It’s been worth every minute. My wish list grows on a daily basis while I spend the weekdays listening to pissed off 403b participants earning money for said wish list items. I have been “living in Flagstaff” for two months now and have spent three whole weekends actually in Flagstaff. It’s awesome.

How have your summers been?

3 Comments
  1. July 13, 2009 12:06 pm

    My summer has almost been too busy. I think I want one weekend where I sit around the house and do absolutely nothing. No talking to friends, no making food, no gardening, no Facebook… nothing.That's a lot of driving. Hey, I want to see the forestry pictures. Where can I find them?

  2. July 13, 2009 12:09 pm

    I would like one of those too Egan. Hit up my blog @ eunicebrownlee.blogspot.com and there's a link to my flickr slideshow. :)

  3. August 12, 2009 11:27 pm

    I will make sure to take a peek at the photos. h

Comments are closed.

