Skip to content

My family is awesome at keeping secrets

April 19, 2009

You know, keeping family secrets can be a double edged sword: there are the secrets you keep to save face and there are the secrets held for the right moment. My family is good at both.

A few years ago, my sister and I co-conspired to surprise my folks with a visit from me for Christmas. Last year, my dad and sister threw my mom a huge party for her 50th birthday. She had a great time, although my mom hates being the center of attention, so maybe it wasn’t such a good call on their part.

Yesterday, I was expecting my parents to arrive for a weekend of birthday fun to celebrate the big three-oh. I was nervous as they traveled through winter conditions over the course of two days. I was even more bothered by the fact that I wasn’t getting my usual update every few hours without having to call. Yet nothing tipped their hand, I wasn’t even smelling a hint of a conspiracy.

I was pleasantly surprised when my mom walked through the door, followed by my nephew, my brother, his girlfriend, my niece, my sister, my dad, and my bro-in-law. Unfortunately. They are only able to stay for a day and a half, but I can’t think of anything better to celebrate the big day.

Comments are closed.

