Skip to content

Mamma Mia!

May 12, 2008

I finally understand why Egan is so addicted to triathlons. If I could swim, I would totally be on board with that business. Alissa and I did our first 5k on Saturday morning. It all started out innocently, our church group had planned to volunteer for the event, which was to raise money for hivcarelink.org (the founder spoke at church last month, and as I bawled my eyes out listening to him, I realized that I have a long way to come in life). However, when we submitted our names to the volunteer list, we were told it was full, but we were welcome to run or walk in the event. I got this news on Friday morning.

Saturday, we woke up to rain, and had I known that City Park is only about a mile from where I now live, we would have walked there, despite the rain. I showed up, coffee in hand (because coffee is just what any good runner/walker starts out a race with), stroller packed, layered up to the 9’s and registered for the event.

The rain subsided by the time the race began, and we were amused when the leader of the pack passed the pace car just after the first mile.

Runner # 4299 (me and Alissa) completed the 3.1 miles in 54:19, and it was a great time. It makes me want to start running again so that I may actually run the next time.

Comments are closed.

