Skip to content

Things I like about dating an older man

January 3, 2008

At first it was awkward dating someone old enough to be my dad, but it doesn’t seem to phase me any longer. In fact, I am really enjoying it.

I don’t have to feel guilty that I don’t want to go out and party. I’m past that stage of my life, and I am perfectly happy cuddling on the couch and watching the news with a carton of butter pecan and two spoons.

If he doesn’t remember to call when he says he will, or doesn’t return my calls promptly, it doesn’t bother me because I know he’s not playing some stupid game with me.

The “turn your hearing aid up!” or the “I think that [fill in the blank] is older than I am” jokes never get old (no pun intended).

It doesn’t bother me when he talks about ex-girlfriends because he’s generally referring to relationships that happened while I was still in diapers.

Chivalry is not dead. So many men my age have no manners when it comes to women. I love that he always opens my car door and helps me in.

Maybe it’s not an age thing, but rather, I’m actually half of a healthy relationship for a change.

Comments are closed.

