Skip to content

Merrily, Merrily, Merrily, Merrily….

September 24, 2007

I had a terrific day yesterday. Alissa and I headed down to the Valley of the Sun (and it was only 90!) to visit my best friend and her daughter. We had a grand time too.

We spent the morning in IKEA, since I have not been in one since I lived in Seattle (in fact, that’s the only one I have been in), and it was a 2-story IKEA nonetheless. Yeeehaw. I set a new record too — record low that is, I got out of there for $5.74. My previous record was $10 plus tax. Now did I need those sets of bowls, plates, and storage containers (which are exactly like the ones I already have, but with a blue lid)? Definitely not. But did I enjoy wandering through the rat maze, picking things up along the way? Absolutely. That, my friends, is the magic of IKEA.

After that, a trip to the zoo was in order, where we wandered around in the heat, taking turns pulling 60 pounds of weight around in a wagon, lifting them to see the animals since both of them are too short to see over the barriers at most of the exhibits. I have a feeling I’m going to be royally sore tomorrow. We rounded the adventure out with a special chance to feed the giraffe and see some of the other animals up close and personal (my friend’s hubby is a zookeeper there, so that’s how I rate). Alissa had a great time and although she probably won’t remember it (and there are no pics to prove it as the flash spooks the animals, and I forgot to recharge my battery, so it was almost dead anyway), there will be other opportunities for her to do this again.

We finished off the day with dinner at Dave & Busters and a very late, very long, car trip home. All in all, it was a great day…

…which was promptly ruined this morning by yet another “talk” with my folks. I really don’t get it. I think the reason that the things they say bother me so much is because they don’t just tell me things, they dance around issues and hole things up and then pounce on me when I least expect it. The thing is, everything they say is contradictory. One minute, they tell me how smart and capable I am, and the next, they tell me how they think I make stupid choices. I think that a lot of what they say is driven from experience, a little regret, and the need to prevent me from falling into the same trap. I believe that at least 70 per cent of what they say really has nothing to do with me and they are simply trying to work out their own life’s issues and come to terms with the choices they have made.

I came to the conclusion that I can’t stay here much longer — I certainly won’t last the three weeks until Vegas. My family is making me crazy. If my dad comes out with another earth-shattering admission (today’s was a doozy, but again, for his protection, I won’t share specifics), I think I might run screaming into the woods across the street and never return. I’ve come to the conclusion that we are best kept at a distance, where they can disapprove of my life and it doesn’t feel so personal. Maybe if our relationship were better, it would be different, but I don’t see it changing any time soon.

So tomorrow, I’ll have to work on the plan for going back to Denver. If I want to leave on, say, Wednesday, or if I can actually make it to the end of the week.

Comments are closed.

