Skip to content

Happy Father’s Day

June 17, 2007

Happy Father’s Day to all you dads (and soon-to-be dads) out there! I have no terribly happy news to report on either of the two dads in my life, but they are in my thoughts and prayers today.

My dad seems to be doing okay, for the time being, he’s stable. Yesterday, he went against the doctor’s orders and not only skipped some of his meds, but had regular coffee, which he isn’t supposed to have caffeine, and that kicked the anxiety into full gear. I spent about an hour talking to him, and in that time, the mood changed from frustrated to sad to tired to joyful. I can’t imagine what it must be like to be him right now.

As for Dale, he hasn’t chosen now to be a father yet, not that I expected him to have some sort of miracle revelation just because it’s Father’s Day. We haven’t even discussed it in over two months. I still believe in my heart that he will be ready someday, but I have learned to stop asking when that day might be. I don’t think that he knows any more than I at this point.

With that, I think Alissa and I are going to go hang at the pool because it is ridiculously hot today.

Comments are closed.

