Skip to content

And the Oscar goes to…

February 25, 2007

Tonight was the first time I have ever watched the Oscars where I have seen not one of the movies nominated. So rather than watching each of the awards given away and yelling out, “that’s crap!” when the movie I wanted least to win took home the Oscar, I am now writing down all of these films to add to my Blockbuster queue.

I did appreciate Ellen as a host though. She’s been one of a few hosts suitable as a substitute for Billy Crystal.

The Oscars used to be a big deal in my house; my ex was an aspiring screenwriter, so our world revolved around movies. Typically, we tried to see all of the nominated movies and we generally only missed a handful. Then we would do the ballot thing and pick who we thought would win. It was a lot of fun, but now I barely even pay attention to the films, I just try to see what I think is worth the $10 admission price.

So now I have some serious movie-watching to do so I can see what I’ve missed out on the last year. Maybe this year, I’ll catch a movie or two. It still pains me to think that “The Lake House*” was the last movie I saw in the theater.

*for the record, that was my mom’s pick, not mine. I was days from giving birth and thus, was not rational.

Comments are closed.

