Skip to content

Laundry day

February 4, 2007

Since our new place doesn’t have a washer and dryer, we had to experience the laundromat today. This was the first time I had been to an acutal laundromat since I was a kid. $20 in quarters later, I had all six loads going in a string of washers I had been lucky enough to find available all at once. Super Bowl Sunday morning must be the best time to do laundry, as it was relatively quiet in there.

I’m not sure if there is any sort of laundry etiquette, other than what I learned in “The One with the German Laundry Detergent” Friends episode. If there is, I probably violated many of them, blocking the aisle with my four giant bags of laundry, basket full of miscellaneous soaps and softeners, and seven-month old in a car seat. And I’m sure that most of the people there really appreciated me snapping photos of my every move.

One rule I know we did violate was the “do not allow children to play in laundry carts.” Being Sunday, there was no attendant there to bust us, so we had a little fun. I plunked Alissa right into the cart and zoomed her around as she giggled hysterically.

Lesson learned: it’s better to add time to your dryer (charged in 7 minute increments) than to bake the crap out of your clothes to the point of needing to remove them with oven mitts.

Comments are closed.

