Skip to content

I have a confession to make

January 18, 2007

This Christmas, I broke my Wal-Mart boycott streak so that my daughter could have a Christmas tree. Now, the reason that I was boycotting them was two-fold: 1) I used to work for them and I just got so tired of being around the whiny, cheap people that were always there (I am speaking in generalities here) that I just could not bring myself into going in there and 2) when I worked for The Big Red U, I got a glimpse into exactly how they can offer the lowest price. Always. and it really disturbed me. So for 6-1/2 years, I didn’t even so much as step foot in a Wal-Mart. I would sit in the car in the parking lot if friends or family were going in, but I would not do it.

But at Christmas, it was Wal-Mart to the rescue, both on the Christmas tree and the fact that they were the only grocery store in a 10 mile radius that had cheese and fresh meat after the first blizzard hit. Well…

Now I’m like an alcoholic who had just a sip of whiskey after years of being sober. I have completely fallen off the wagon. I’ve been into Wal-Mart like once a week since that day. And I’m lovin’ every minute of it. It’s those low prices. I can’t. Control. Myself.

Comments are closed.

