Skip to content

Moving right along, foot loose and fancy free

January 11, 2007

I hate moving. It sucks. The only time that moving is really truly fun is when a new adventure is coming along with it, like say, moving to Seattle. Or Denver. Or your very own home. But moving across town to a neighborhood you don’t really like to begin with, that is completely out of the way of your daily routine, to an apartment half the size of the one you live in now, stinks like Alissa’s diapers in the afternoon.

I think the only thing worse than packing is the unpacking – specifically the point at which you go, “man, I really should have taken this stuff to Goodwill along with the rest of the crap I brought over there last week.” And then you put it back in the box and stick it in your garage until the next move.

Then there’s the figuring out where to put it all. Just once would I like to get that figured out on the first try. Usually, one unpacks and realizes that the silverware should have gone in the drawer closest to the dining room, not the one next to the stove. Or that the TV in that spot gets an awful glare on it when the sun comes around (by the way, I’ve been meaning to fix that for two years). Or your bed is right underneath the heater vent so you wake up in the middle of the night with your sinuses dry as a bone (been meaning to change that too).

In case you are that slow to figure it out, I’m in the process of moving. I might embrace it more if I were excited about it, like if I had bought a place or something. But I just can’t, even though it will be saving me a sizeable amount of money in rent each month. I am moving into my friend’s apartment, and just like Rachel says in “The One with the Embryos,” it’s a boy’s apartment. It may not be smelly and gross, but it just isn’t me. And it just couldn’t be in a more inconvenient part of town. Well, if I still worked at the golf course, it would, but I don’t, so it isn’t.

With any luck, I will be in a position to be able to move back to my neighborhood in a few months and all will be right with the world again.

Comments are closed.

