Skip to content

On the verge of tears

December 12, 2006

I talked to my best friend this evening on my way home from work. I was calling her to re-schedule our usual Tuesday night conversation because I have to be in Boulder early tomorrow morning (it’s a 40 minute drive + an hour of traffic to get there from my house during rush hour), so I have to be up at the butt crack of dawn and need to turn in early tonight to accomplish that feat (in reality, I will probably roll out of bed five minutes before I have to leave, much like I did this morning, although that was completely accidental). She had some bad news for me.

Her grandmother, affectionately known by all of us as Gramma Dot, is at the end of her battle with lung cancer. She was first diagnosed two years ago and at the time, was given not much more than a month to live. So for us to be at the point now of saying goodbye really is a blessing, but sad nonetheless.

I wish that I knew readily where the photos of my friend’s bridal shower were, so I could share with you the photo of Gramma Dot in her toilet paper wedding dress that we so fabulously fashioned for her. This is the kind of woman she is — always one of the girls, no matter if it was a gaggle of teenagers at cosmic bowling or a bunch of young twenty somethings at a bridal shower.

I never had a relationship with either of my grandmothers. My maternal grandmother passed away when I was 9, and my paternal grandmother has been institutionalized since my dad was a little boy and now has such severe Alzheimer’s that she doesn’t know who we are when we call at the holidays. Gramma Dot was sort of like the grandmother I never knew. Even though I didn’t see her often, she still has a place in my heart as if she were my own family.

I wish her peace as she lives out her final days. If you’re the praying type, please say a prayer for her and my friend’s family as they say goodbye to a loved one.

Comments are closed.

