Skip to content

This is how I know I’m doing the right thing

October 2, 2006

So the job search is still on — slowly moving, but still progress. I’ve been interviewing with one company for almost three weeks now, and I am trying not to let my impatience get the best of me. I simply cannot afford to be employed at the club another day.

I worked Saturday, which was one of the most stressful days I have ever had in my life. We had a close overlap of two events, one with a bride that was beyond demanding, one with a total bitch and me without someone to watch my kid. I put in 14 hours. I have no idea how I did it. I have no idea how we pulled it off, but we did. The kick in the pants to all of it was at 3:45, when I questioned where half my staff was, only to learn that they had each called in to another manager earlier in the day (or in one case, the day before), and no one bothered to pass the message along. If not for already being short-staffed, I would have walked out the door at that very moment. I ended up begging two people to stay and work, which meant that I had to work until 12:30, exhausted baby and all, so that they could leave early.

I questioned yesterday why I still care. I am beyond frustrated with this place and I feel like I’m one of the women on the Titanic, begging to get on the boat and no one will let me on. Does the water have to be up to my neck before someone will extend a hand to pull me out?

I have another interview this afternoon, and I’m hoping that this will be it. I can’t hold on any longer. My sanity will be the next to go otherwise.

Comments are closed.

