Skip to content

Chief Yellowhorse hearts me

July 29, 2006

One of the many things that I love about Northern Arizona are all of the funny random things you’ll see when passing through The Rez (aka one of the Native American reservations).

East of Holbrook, it’s all of the advertisments for the petrified wood forest, along with the dinosaur statues with mannequin legs in their mouths. Just outside of Tuba City, it’s the guy in a tent that charges you to look at his dinosaur tracks. Pretty much anywhere, it’s the herd of sheep that wander aimlessly up the highway. And just north of Cameron (home of the world’s best Navajo taco), it’s Chief Yellowhorse and his giant dreamcatcher.

All along the highways that run through The Rez are roadside stands boasting sales of authentic Native American goods, but none are quite like Chief Yellowhorse. You see, it’s because Chief Yellowhorse loves me, the road signs say so. And there are friendly indians there too. The road signs say that too. For some reason, my dad finds the signs at Chief Yellowhorse so entertaining, that the last time we drove through there, he made up words to the tune of “Jesus Loves Me” to go with them. I can’t remember them or I’d put them up because it’s really funny.

I don’t know if you can see these pictures very well, since I took them from a moving vehicle, but you get the drift. So if you’re ever out to see the Grand Canyon, make sure to stop by and see the Ol’ Chief while you’re in the area. He loves you too, you know.
Comments are closed.

