Skip to content

There aren’t enough days with which to blog

July 24, 2006

I am so behind on posts, I haven’t even gotten to the plethora of funny things I wanted to post about when the computer was out of commission. But today was such a great day that I have to blog about it rather than the stuff I was going to blog about last week.

I spent the day with Tanya, my best friend of 15 years. We started the way that any trip to Flagstaff for the two of us (she now lives in Phoenix) must start: breakfast at Campus Coffee Bean, which is Flagstaff’s answer to Central Perk without the giant couch. We began this tradition when we were still in high school and “The Bean” (as it is affectionately called) had just opened. We started going there one summer during music camp (insert “one time at band camp…” joke here) because it was close enough to walk to from our dorm during our two hours of down time between the last class of the day and the evening activity. We always got the same thing: she an iced cappucino with a shot of chocolate macadamia nut syrup, I an iced mocha. We have watched the bean grow and change through the years, when it became a popular place to study during “reading week” (the week right before finals if they don’t call it that elsewhere in the world), hang out on a week night, or spend a Saturday morning. We also added a bagel to our little regimen, since we tend to eat there for breakfast. And so, many moons later, the tradition continues.

Today, I don’t know what we were thinking, but we both decided to mix it up. She ordered an omlette and I got french toast. We ordered our drinks and then the bad news came: they got rid of the chocolate macadamia nut syrup. She was devastated. The Bean is the only coffee shop we have ever been to (and we’ve been to a lot) that has this flavor. Our food wasn’t nearly as good as the bagels are, but we didn’t let that (or my discovery of forgetting to re-pack the baby wipes after an explosive poop episode) get us down.

After that, we went shopping. I just about got disowned this afternoon when I told my mom we had gone to the scrapbooking store (even though she no longer has her retail front, I guess she still competes with them and I didn’t know that). I was really excited to find that they had background paper printed with my high school name and colors. They didn’t have Tanya’s — she went to the rival school, so I couldn’t help but pipe up with, “that’s because they have the only one that matters.” Ahh, just like old times.

After that, we went to lunch, and as we pulled up, the GM from the club called me with some fabulous news. Some people are being let go this week. Namely, those that have been making my life a living hell. So I’m hoping that means they’ll step up to the plate and take care of me, but we’ll see when I get back next week.

I also got some other great news. Tanya’s mother-in-law, who happens to be a very close friend of my family’s, does not have lupus, as she was previously diagnosed. She does have some other auto-immune disorder thst affects her skin and muscles. I can’t remember the name of it — derma something. But I guess it’s not as bad and she’s determined to put it into remission.

All in all, it was a good day.

Comments are closed.

