Skip to content

Life in Flag-town

July 6, 2006

Well, I don’t think that I will be getting the opportunity to do my photo tour of Flagstaff this week, but as we drove around today, I started making a list of everything that I have to document on film…from the church I grew up in to my high school to the best pizza joint in town. I’m so excited that I can barely stand it. Just being here brings back so many memories.

This morning, I was woken up at 5:30 so that I could check out the elk that were grazing in the neighbors back yard. I got to witness a beautiful shade of red sun reflecting off the mountains too. I didn’t get a picture because, well, it was 5:30 in the friggin’ morning and it took all my energy to sit up and poke my head out of the window, much less reach to the foot of the bed and grab my camera. Maybe tomorrow. If you’re lucky. Still, it’s pretty cool to have elk grazing in your yard first thing in the morning.

Flagstaff really is a cool town and a damn cool place to grow up. Being here reminds me of that. We drove past the neighborhood I grew up in (aside from my parents’ current residence) and I noticed everything from a “new” set of stop signs to the colors the current homeowners changed their houses to. Even my parents’ house is different every time I come home. And then there are all of the cool things that haven’t changed — a list that could go on all day and would consist of mostly restaurants (surprised?).

Would I live here again? Perhaps…not at this point in my life though. I love Denver and I am feeling a little “home”sick. Maybe some day though…like when I’m old and filthy rich.

Comments are closed.

