Skip to content

Beware of bedtime reading

May 3, 2006

Other than my annual Mary Higgins Clark fix, I generally try not to read anything that will get my adrenaline pumping before I go to bed because then I will have weird dreams at night. Little did I know that reading What to Expect When You’re Expecting would be no different than reading The Shining before I went to sleep. Last week, I read the section about breech babies just before I nodded off, and I had horrific dreams of my baby coming out of my womb ribs first (don’t ask me how that is physically possible). Last night, I opted for the Labor and Delivery section, and while my dreams were not completely horrifying, I kept waking up in the middle of the night thinking that people were in my house ready to take me to the hospital and give birth. And not people I know, mind you, COMPLETE STRANGERS.

I also had dreams of walking around the hospital with an umbilical cord hanging from my nether regions. I did, however, have dreams of having a quick and easy labor, which is one of those things that I hope come true. I know you mothers out there are laughing at me, thinking, “dream on, sister!” but that didn’t stop me from having another mother-daughter talk with my belly this morning. I’m pretty sure that she and I have an understanding.

Comments are closed.

