Skip to content

The procrastinators support group meeting has been postponed

April 19, 2006

I am a true procrastinator. Always have been. I believe it runs in my blood. I just got off the phone with my mom, who was trying to pack for their trip to come up here tomorrow. I was aghast that she was already packing, seeing as they don’t leave until tomorrow afternoon. However, like me, she has a full day planned, so she’s sort of forced to pack tonight since she won’t be home once she and my dad leave at 8am.

I’m no better than she is. In fact, I’m worse. I have to be at work tomorrow at 7am, I still have laundry, dishes, shopping and homework to do, all of which needs to be done tomorrow before 6pm so that I have time to get ready to go out for my birthday tomorrow night for a few hours before picking my parents up at the airport at 11:30. You would think that I would have come straight home after work tonight and done most of that stuff, but instead, I hung out and had “drinks” (if iced tea and water qualify as having drinks with the gang), then went to dinner with my coworkers, and have spent the last hour sending e-mails, surfing the web, and pretty much not doing any of the things that I need to be doing. In about 20 minutes, I’ll convince myself that I’m too tired to crank out a pathetic attempt at a paper on e-commerce, but not too tired to turn on the TV and watch Friends, which is on in half an hour.

I decided to be completely irresponsible and ditch class tomorrow night in favor of hanging out with my friends. I was really proud of myself though, that I managed to find a pregnant-friendly something to do so that I could enjoy myself too. It’s just no fun going to the bars and sitting there watching everyone else enjoy a beer. I am just determined to have a better birthday than I did last year. So far, we’re looking good. In the meantime, I think I’ll have some ice cream and watch Friends. My homework and chores will still be waiting for me tomorrow.

Comments are closed.

