Skip to content

Here’s my beef for the day

March 31, 2006

As the news about the baby is getting around to each of my friends in Seattle, it seems that the first question out of all of their mouths is, “so are you going to move back to Flagstaff?” WHY PEOPLE, WHY?

I don’t get it. I really don’t. I told my mom, and she was wondering the same thing. Why would people presume that I’m moving back to Flagstaff just because I’m having a baby? A lot of people have kids and don’t live anywhere near their parents, why would I be any different? It’s not like I have some terminal illness and require constant care, I’m pregnant for pete’s sake! Seriously. Plus, I’m six months pregnant. Who the hell wants to move two states away when they are six months pregnant? My sister moved two blocks away when she was seven months on her first kid and she was miserable!

This just goes to show that in the broad spectrum of people that I consider friends, most of them don’t know me at all. Since I was 6 years old, I have wanted to live in Colorado. Since I first moved to Colorado when I was 18, I’ve wanted to live in Denver. I finally get that chance and I do it, and now they all want to know if I’m going to leave? Ha! Yeah right. I think that I have to demote all of those that asked me that from “friend” to “acquaintence.”

Comments are closed.

