Skip to content

Wedding bells ring again

March 19, 2006

Well, it is officially that time again. No, I’m not getting married again. Been there, done that, got the condo. But other people are taking the plunge, about one a week from now till September. Yee haw.

I really love it when we have weddings at work. They are so much more fun than all of the other parties we throw out there. Although the surprise 50th birthday from a couple weeks ago was a blast. Still, weddings are nice because you get to see people happy and in love and it just makes you feel good. Plus wedding cake is so yummy to enjoy. It’s fun to try and pick a) the song for the couple’s first dance, b) if he’s going to be nice or smash cake all over her face, c) which member of the wedding party that is going to pass out from intoxication, and d) which unattached pair is going home together.

Last night’s wedding was a big deal for us. I was completely stressed out because not only was there a lot going on, but the event was being covered by the Denver Post, so things had to be even more perfect than usual. Thankfully, the bride and groom, along with their families, were completely amazing. Had they been jerks, I would have had a major meltdown yesterday.

The ceremony was great. The father of the bride was the minister that married them, and his service was so neat. I thought it was awesome that he was able to make it so personal for the two of them. Regardless of the relationship of the officiant with the couple, I think that more of them could stand to do that instead of the canned stuff that we inevitably start hearing after a month or so.

The best part of the night, however, was the hula hoop contest. Let me back up for just a minute and explain why there was a hula hoop contest at a wedding reception. A few weeks back, the groom had gone home to Wisconsin for his bachelor party, and they called the girls the next day to confess that they had such a great time that they actually spent the night in jail. Four days later, they admitted that they made the story up to see what the bride’s reaction would be.

The bride decided that their penance would be that once her new husband and all of his buddies were good and liquored up, they would be participating in a hula hoop contest in front of all of their friends and families. Let me tell you, that was a sight.

The girls did end up joining the contest, and the bride and her mom were both amazing, especially considering that neither of them were wearing hula hoop appropriate attire. The only thing that ruined the contest was that they invited the photographer to participate, and instead of letting the bride win, she won and kept her $10 prize. I thought that was pretty tacky. Although her partner was asking me to have the club rewire the lighting in the front entry way so that not all of the lights were on the same switch so he could get better lighting the next time he was out for an event, so I guess I shouldn’t have been surprised.

It was a great night, even though it was a long one. I was proud of myself that the new procedures I had developed for making the night go smoothly were effective and everything was perfect. I can tell that I was so made for this job.

Comments are closed.

