Skip to content

My life has suddenly become Friends season 8

February 27, 2006

I had quite the long week last week…I had a bit of a surprise that, quite frankly, was the last thing I ever expected to hear. I don’t even want to get into the details of how it was such a surprise at this point, but let’s just say please don’t think me stupid, I have a legitimate excuse.

I haven’t been feeling well lately and I have been having some serious indigestion problems that I couldn’t quite figure out. I believed that the problems that I’ve been having could be solely attributed to the fact that since beginning work full time at the golf course, my diet changed from whole grain, fresh fruits, healthy diet to rich gourmet food 6 times a week. It all made sense, the weight gain, the bloating, everything.

So Tuesday I went to the doctor to get checked out. Turns out, I’m perfectly healthy, I’m just pregnant. Let’s just say that was the last thing that I expected to hear from her that morning. I had gone into the appointment thinking at worst, that I had some sort of digestive tract issue that would involve some sort of major surgery. At best, I was thinking maybe tapeworms. So after the shock of that wore off, I made an appointment with an OB/GYN for Friday toget a check up, determine how far along I was, etc. I was really nervous, but figured that I couldn’t get more of a shock than I did on Tuesday. Boy was I wrong.

I’m halfway done with this whole pregnancy thing. I’ll be 5 months this week and I find out on Friday if I’m having a boy or girl. This is so exciting and scary, I just don’t know what to think. I’m happy and anxious about it all at the same time. I think the shock of it all is still sinking in.

Making the phone calls to tell friends and family wasn’t so hard, they were all so supportive of me and happy for me and everything. My sister and I are even due the same week, so our kids will get to grow up together, which I think is cool. The only thing I have left to do is get a hold of the guy I wasn’t dating and tell him the news. I think he’s out of town right now since I can’t seem to get a hold of him. Somehow, I doubt that this is the birthday gift that he had on his list (his birthday is Thursday), but hey…what he wants to do is up to him. I truly believe, though, that he’ll step up since he’s just that great a guy. If not, I’m not worried about it. I made it through last year, I can get through this.

Something that I am looking forward to a lot is knowing that my child will never come to me and say, “I’ve found a new mommy and I’d like to see where things go with her, so I’ll see you later.”

Comments are closed.

