Skip to content

Okay, so maybe it was only 5 degrees

October 25, 2005

I’m not exactly sure what to think about this whole photo project I somehow got myself involved in. My gut feeling is nagging at me going, “if it seems too good to be true, it probably is!” I’m not about to ruin my name before I even get started. There are some things about it that make me wonder if I am getting caught up in some sort of scam:

  1. The guy is in Toronto, and I appear to be the only photographer on the project. I’m in Denver. Are you telling me this guy can’t find talented photographers in his neck of the woods? I’m not getting paid, I’m only getting credit on the calendar.
  2. I have to find my own talent. Are you kidding me? I have never had to do that. That’s the project coordinator’s job. You tell the talent when and where to show up, you give the photographer a vision, and they go from there.
  3. I have to find my own graphic designer. Okay, so now I have to convince a graphic designer to work for free now too?
  4. I can only e-mail him. When he calls, a Toronto number pops up on caller ID, but when I call back, it says the number is disconnected.
  5. He doesn’t have a website. In fact, he asked if I had connections to help him get that going. The only references I have to his work are by other models that have posted on sites such as onemodelplace.com, which aren’t the greatest talent out there, so I have no way of knowing if this guy is for real.
  6. He’s offered to fly some girls out here for the shoot, but he’s only seen a little bit of my work. How does he know that I’m worth it?
  7. He has not asked me for money, but told me that he would like the models to cover the shipping of the clothes because he did not want to ship clothes to girls that were going to flake. This seemed fair until he mentioned that the shipping costs were $140/person. I don’t feel comfortable asking anyone to pay $140 to be in a calendar, even new talent. I checked into it, and the rate is fair, if he’s shipping 15lbs of stuff and shipping overnight, which there is really no reason for.
  8. He said that he’s planning an event in Denver, and that he needs my help finding a location. Again, no problem doing this, but I’ve already invested too much work into something that is not paid, I’m only getting credit (maybe) on the calendar for marketing purposes. I have to stop and ask myself, “what’s in it for me?” Not enough.

Maybe it’s just me being completely cynical, but after the situation with the renters, I have learned not to trust people I don’t know, and my gut, which is always right, is screaming at me that something isn’t right here. This is a great opportunity if it’s for real, but I can’t shake the feeling that I’m going to do all of this work and still have nothing in the end. I’m tired of working for free.

Comments are closed.

