Skip to content

On meeting a fellow blogger

October 24, 2005

I know that Egan met a fellow blogger a few weeks ago, and this weekend was my turn. Cressida is on her way out to start her new life in the bay area, and her trek brought her through Denver. I met up with her and a friend at a local bar called Governor’s Park. I had never been there, so it was also nice to get to try something new.

I arrived around 9:30, and the place was packed. I guess it’s a hot spot for the college crowd, so I shouldn’t have expected any different for a Friday night. I felt sort of like I was looking for a blind date, wandering through the crowds looking for a familiar face.

When I finally found her, it was like seeing an old friend that you haven’t seen for a while. We hugged and I sat down and we all chatted over beers for a few hours. It’s so weird to have a conversation with someone who knows you so well when you have never met them. We talked about how weird it is that in the blogosphere, it is so easy to become friends with one another, and before long, you forget that you are complete strangers to each other.

We had a great time, despite watching this little mouse running back and forth under the tables where we were sitting. Thankfully, we were outside, or I would have been a little more concerned about our new little friend. We talked about so many things, and then our conversation came to ethnicity and things and it was kind of ironic that a dude with the lamest pick up line ever approached at the moment he did.

“Excuse me ladies, are you all American girls, because I don’t date American girls anymore. I dated this German girl a bit ago and she stole my heart.” I looked at Cressida’s friend with the “is he really this lame?” look, and she returned it with a stifled laugh. We both told the guy that sorry, we were both 100% American girls. Since Cressida has lived in London, she threw on her best English accent and said, “Well love, I’m English.” They exchanged a few more words and he went inside. It was hilarious. It was all I could do to keep from laughing in that guy’s face.

Unfortunately, I wasn’t able to join them for dancing on Saturday night, but it sounds like they had a blast.

Comments are closed.

