Skip to content

And so it goes

October 10, 2005

Saturday was a long night at the golf course with another wedding. Two-tone dresses are very in this year, as are red & white or red & black themes. The decorations that they did were so cool and unique. They took live branches (I don’t know what kind though), and put them in vases and then hung teardrop vases with baby roses and baby dahlias in them on the branches. The whole place looked like an enchanted forest. It was cool. The food, however, was not. It was horrible, so that put everyone in a cranky mood, and ended up with us crediting the entire meal. Which I am glad the club stood behind, since it was terrible. I couldn’t even believe that they let the food out of the kitchen. To top it off, it was 80 degrees outside, and thanks to the noise complaints from the neighbors, we are not allowed to keep the doors open at all anymore, which made it super hot and stuffy in the room. Even though we got done early, for a wedding, that is, I was exhausted at the end of the night and fell straight into bed when I got home and slept like a rock.

Yesterday was a miserable Seattle-like day (gray and drizzly all day) but it really fit my mood. I made an early-morning trip to Target to get my photo paper to print the 70’s b-day pics I did (I’ll throw some of those into Flickr soon) for a new client, and spent the rest of the morning and early afternoon watching football and baseball. I gave up at the middle of the 15th inning of Braves/Astros game and went to see “In Her Shoes.” I haven’t been to a movie in forever, and decided that I deserved it. This was only the third time in my life that I’ve been to a movie by myself, and it finally didn’t feel strange or depressing or lonely. The first time was the night that my ex let me know that he was having doubts about our relationship…in a dazed funk, I got into the car and drove and drove and drove, and I ended up in a theater in Redmond, watching “Jersey Girl.” I almost ended up watching the thing completely by myself, since the other two ladies came in right as the movie started. Anyway. Back to yesterday. I sat there through the previews and realized how much my mind wanders when I’m at the movies by myself. I was all over the place. I was trying to put a finger on what exactly was bothering me.

Note to self: don’t watch sappy movies when you’re already down. I thought that this was a great movie, and it made me miss my sister even more than I already do, and we don’t have nearly as dysfunctional a relationship as the pair in the movie. It warmed my heart and left me bawling…to the point that when I got to my car, I broke down in a hysterical fit and just sat there crying for a good 20 minutes. All of these thoughts were flooding through my head and I couldn’t control the emotions. Thank god I have therapy tomorrow. I called my sister and let everything that was going through my head out, and after that, I felt much better, but was still in a funk. I made myself a nice dinner (pork chops with onion confit and mashed potatoes and broccoli and a glass of red wine to wash it down) and relaxed for the evening. I haven’t done that in so long, it was nice.

I awoke this morning to four inches of snow. That’s right, our first snow of the season. I looked out the window and saw the beautiful white blanket and it just put me in the best mood. I even got up early (that’s a first) so that I could try and fix my windshield wiper that’s been broken for months (and I did it!!). Because we’ve had such a long summer, most of the trees have not only not dropped their leaves, but are still green! The weight of the snow is snapping the branches off like crazy. Poor trees. It’s still snowing as I write this, and we’re expected to have up to 12-18 inches by the end of the day. And then back to 70 degrees again by Friday. This is Colorado.

Right now, I’ve got Christmas carols playing in my head and I wish I was at home in my PJ’s, curled up in front of the fire with a cup of hot chocolate and a good movie. OR…bundled up and kicking butt in a snowball fight.

Comments are closed.

