Skip to content

Someone sent me a cake with a file baked inside

October 7, 2005

Okay, it’s not what you think. Really. That’s a metaphor. Really. I’ve hesitated posting this because I know that there are some people that read my blog that are connected to people in my industry, and I don’t want any rumors started, but I really would like to get some advice, since you are all so good at it.

I hate being a bag lady. Most days, I feel like I would rather put one over my head than sell a truckload of them. In addition, I hate this industry in general. I really do. I realize that there are a lot of industries that have their own problems, but I have never in my life seen such a bunch of whiny customers, and I hate dealing with a majority of them. And that’s saying a lot — I worked for the county health department for two years. Two and a half years ago, I left the Big Red U with the same flair that Jennifer Aniston walked out of Chotchkies in Office Space. It felt great. I was free. I was out. I never had to look back. Two weeks later, I was back in. The job I had taken to break free was a complete nightmare, and this opportunity came along at just the right moment. Out of desperation, I became a bag lady, after I had sworn up and down that the distribution business was in my rearview mirror, getting smaller by the minute.

So not knowing how long my sentence would be this time around, I started my gig as the bag lady. It didn’t take long before I realized how much I still hated the industry, and I have been keeping one eye open ever since, but not actively looking for anything.

Well…the other day, out of nowhere, an opportunity was offered to me, and aside from some of the usual practical cons, it’s a great opportunity, not only to get out of this business, but to enable me to focus more on my photography so that I can realize that goal as well. I wouldn’t start until January, but I am starting to feel that it would be a good idea to take the position.

The pros:

  • flexible hours, I would work only 3-4 days a week
  • I would be paid base plus commissions. So theoretically, I should make more money than I do now (see corresponding con)
  • ability to build and grow my photography business in my time off.
  • just as close to home, but less traffic
  • new industry
  • they are willing to work around my photo gigs
  • plastics are super volatile right now, so it’s a good time to make a change

The cons:

  • no benefits (although I have already solved that issue)
  • long hours for the days I do work (12-14 hour days)
  • that also means that when it’s busy, I’m working mucho hours/week
  • my base pay is lower, so on paper, I technically make less money, so if it was slow, that could become a problem
  • no slacking off and blogging from work (okay, not really a con, but hey…)

As you can see, the pros outweigh the cons for now. At the end of the day, I’d rather be happy and work around the challenges than be practical and miserable. I did that for 7 years, I don’t need to do it anymore. Unfortunately, I can’t go into more detail right now, but I would like to solicit your thoughts to use to weigh my decision.

Comments are closed.

