Skip to content

Bean counter

September 23, 2005

My finance & accounting class is killing me. Five weeks to go, and I’ll be lucky if I get an A in the first half. I couldn’t figure out why though, since I’m pretty good with numbers, and I’m quick to pick up on things. I even got frustrated to the point of crying the other night. I haven’t cried over my homework since I was 10.

I think I’ve finally figured out why though. UOP is designed for working adults, and all of the assignments we do draw from our own work experiences. For the most part, I’ve been able to apply the concepts learned in class to something I do at my job. Until now. I know nothing about finance or accounting or cash management (ha ha) or any of the stuff that I’m learning now, and I am not able to apply it to anything I do in order to cement the concepts into my head. This is going to be like spanish all over again. How people get degrees in this stuff is beyond me.

So five more weeks of this hell and I will be home free. Then all the fun stuff comes up: marketing, PR, e-commerce, global communications…it’ll be grand. As long as I survive the next five weeks.

Comments are closed.

