Skip to content

Back to the grind

September 1, 2005

What a week. It’s had its highs and it’s had its lows, but I must say that I’m looking forward to the weekend. I wish that I got to enjoy a three day weekend like I used to, but we have four weddings at the golf course this weekend, so I’m going to be taking that on. I’ve decided that I really need to cut back on my time out there so that I can focus on getting other things done. Plus, as I fight a cold, I can see that this running hard is starting to catch up with me.

My day off was fantastic. Kevin and I went out on the boat, read trashy magazines, talked, drank beer, the works. I did get one last super tan (and a little bit of sunburn), which will last a while, seeing as my tan lines from June have yet to fade. Not that I NEED a tan or anything, it just happens. He got upset with me because at one point, I made a few phone calls to rearrange the nudie shoot that I had canceled from Monday. He told me I needed to stop working, but I couldn’t help it. And of course, because I was trying to be left alone, I was super popular that night. I got invited to Tom Petty & the Heartbreakers by one of my customers, two of the guys I had met at salsa lessons called to see if I was going to show up for that, and my other friend called to see if I wanted to come over for dinner. All I really wanted to do was pass out on Kevin’s couch watching TV, and I didn’t even get to do that.

The past couple of days have provided me with some time brainstorming on which direction to take my photography business, and I’m ready to head in full-swing. There are a few more classes that I’m going to be taking this month and I will be ready to kick it up to high gear shortly. With that, I may be able to beat my goal of getting out of the bag business by next summer. I am focused, I’ve got my eye on the prize and I’m ready to roll.

It was tough coming back to work yesterday, so I admit that I didn’t do much work, and I even left early to do this shoot that I had scheduled. Let me tell you, it was a horrifying experience.

Naked people don’t bother me. Really, they don’t. But when I respond to an ad that says “male model seeking photographer to expand portfolio,” I really didn’t expect to get an emaciated balding old man whose balls hang low. Really low. I know that my expectations were probably a little high, but even so. Not only was he not what I expected physically, I couldn’t connect with him on a personal level at all, which always makes it more difficult to shoot a subject like that. I managed to do the shoot in about 30 minutes and get the heck out of there.

As I headed home, I decided to call my friend to see if dinner was still cool and stopped over there instead. And as I was driving over, the bride’s brother from Saturday night called me (again). I seriously am not giving out my phone number to anyone, ever again. I said a few quick words and again made it clear that I am not interested in him and got off the phone. I don’t know what I do to get these guys so enamored with me, but I don’t like it. Plus, it frustrates me that the one person I wish had feelings for me probably never will. I had a nice dinner with my friend and watched TV and relaxed. It was nice to do that for a change.

I’m supposed to pick up the photos from the wedding this afternoon, but don’t think I will make it down there before Saturday morning. I am anxious to see how they turned out. Anxious and nervous all at the same time.

Comments are closed.

