Skip to content

Dearly beloved

August 10, 2005

I picked up the new Faith Hill CD the other day and have been listening to it in the car. One song, “Dearly Beloved,” just cracks me up because it rings all too true with me. The lyrics start as follows:

Good morning dearly beloved we are gathered here today
To watch two people we know make a big mistake
They’ll stand up at the alter and solemnly swear I do
They’ll be together forever til they find somebody new

I find them funny because once again, Faith Hill fits my life so well. Back when we were first dating, I remember my ex hearing the song “Breathe,” and saying that the lyrics

In a way I know my heart is waking up
As all the walls come tumbling down
I’m closer than I’ve ever felt before
And I know
And you know
There’s no need for words right now

were so fitting about how he felt about our relationship because he was an emotionally closed off person when we met, and I got him to open up. It became our song, and I always used to call him and play it when it would come on the radio. I’m happy that I still love that song and I don’t think of him when I hear it.

Then we broke up, and Cry pretty much became my soundtrack. “This is Me” was so fitting for rediscovering myself and “Cry” for how he was to me.

Now I have her new album and again, it just hits home with me. Funny how that is.

Comments are closed.

