Skip to content

So that was the plan

August 4, 2005

So much for the idea of having a full night’s sleep. Instead of heading out to my meetings and then going home, my evening progressed like this:

I left work to head to the sales meeting that I was putting on. I had to stop at the bank to get my closing docs notorized so I could send them back.

I got caught in a torrential downpour and traffic was horrible. I had left my phone at home, so I couldn’t even call to tell them I was going to be late. I finally arrive at the meeting, and the guys were all so cool. One of them was so hot, I had to consciously remind myself not to stare. It was a nice, laid back, ADD kind of meeting. We were all over the place.

One of the guys, who happened to be an acquaintence of mine prior to calling on this account, was celebrating his last day with the company. So they invited me to join them for a quick drink. I agreed to go, but only planned on staying for one or two, and then heading out to do the other few things I had planned to do. It never works that way, I should know that. I ran home and changed really quickly and the bartender I work with had called to see if I wanted to go to a movie, but I told him I already had other stuff going.

I showed up at the place, which was PACKED for a Wednesday night, and we had a couple of beers and I was ready to go. But I stayed for one more round, and before I know it, it’s been two hours. Then they decided that they wanted to go to Stampede, which can best be described as a giant barn dance. Wednesday night is ladies’ night, so there are a ton of people that show up, the ladies for the free drinks, the guys for the ladies. Since I was more sober than everyone else, I drove up there. We got inside and quickly lost one of our people. It’s one of those places that is so big and so crowded, and the crowd just keeps on moving and you just get lost really easily. As we wandered around looking for him, we got up on the dance floor and danced a bit, and then I saw the creepy Tim McGraw guy, so I practically ran off the dance floor and disappeared into the crowd. I wasn’t up for that confrontation.We never did find our guy, so we just hung out and danced some more. I even rode the mechanical bull because I’ve never done that before and always wanted to try it. I am hurting today. Then I somehow lost the other person I was with, and I wandered around for 20 minutes, trying to find him, and when I didn’t, I gave up and went home. I felt bad for ditching them there, but I checked on them this morning and they made it into work okay. Still, it was an early night. I was home and in bed by midnight.

Comments are closed.

