Skip to content

Habitat for Humanity

July 20, 2005

Today I decided that I am going to volunteer for Habitat for Humanity. I have been meaning to do this for many years, I just always seem to find reasons why I don’t have the time. I realized that I really will never have the time, so I might as well just do it and then I will make the time. My mind really got going after watching the latest episode of “The Surreal Life” on Vh1. Yes, I know, strange, isn’t it? Well, they had a bowling tournament against a team of disabled bowlers (who started off by kicking ass and then lost to the Surreal Life team in the 10th frame. I cried).

I have been contemplating doing volunteer work again for quite some time. In elementary school, I spent my recess time playing with disabled kids, in high school, I volunteered at the food kitchen once a month, I worked at the Special Olympics one year, I was a math tutor, I was a teacher at my church’s “Eagles Wings” group (sort of a youth group for elementary school kids that were living in bad neighborhoods), and I was a peer mentor for two of the neatest little girls. I love volunteer work. It’s not so much about the great feeling it gives me, but just knowing that I can touch the lives of others really is something that means a lot to me.

In Seattle a few years ago, I almost got started with Big Brothers, Big Sisters, but then chose not to do it because they expected more time than I was able to give at the moment. So I thought about what I would like to do, and decided on HFH because they really are a great group of people to work with.

My dad was the selection committee chair for HFH about 8 or 10 years ago, and he absolutely loved it. I worked on a site one summer while at church camp (yep, went to those too), and it was so fun. Plus, I am a mean chick with power tools. :)

I won’t be getting started for a while, as I have to attend a volunteer meeting that doesn’t happen for another few weeks. I know what you all are thinking — Eunice, you have 2 jobs, school, your photography, a full social calendar, and all the other stuff you like to do, where the hell are you going to find time to do this too? Well, I don’t really know yet, but I’ll make it work somehow. I figure if I can work on a site once a month, that would be really awesome. It’s just something that I need to do.

Comments are closed.

