Skip to content

The courtesy of “no”

May 9, 2005

For the record people, no reply is not “no.” A “no reply” means, “my time is too valuable to waste it on little niceties such as declining an offer or saying I can’t help you.” It’s fucking rude!!!

I’m going to say this for the benefit of the person that keeps doing this to me, knowing that he has access to this site and may or may not read it. I already said it to him, so maybe this will hit the message home. Or maybe it won’t. I really don’t care.

A couple of weeks ago, my former ex-friend and I mended fences. Or so I thought. What it really was is that he decided to forgive me, but isn’t quite ready for the friend thing again just yet. Silly me, hearing, “let’s just put all that behind us and start from today on,” made me think that we were going to do that. Start over and get to know each other again. Well, you can’t do that when you never see/talk to the person. But fine. Whatever. I am willing to take things at his pace because I respect him that much and I want to be friends again.

Yet before I knew all of this, I called him to invite him to hang out. Twice, I believe, and got a “no reply” RSVP to my invitations. Needless to say, that was a bit irritating, so I called him on it. He responded with, “slow down, I’m not ready yet.” Okay, fine, I can handle that. So yesterday, after calling all of my other friends to see if anyone had an automatic I could borrow, since it’s difficult to drive stick when you’re not supposed to put a lick of pressure on your left foot, I called him, knowing that he owns four cars and one of them is bound to be an automatic. This was yesterday morning when I woke up. Now here I am, 36 hours later, and one very long commute driving twenty miles to work in stop and go traffic in excruciating pain, and I still have not heard from him. Obviously, he either can’t or doesn’t want to help, but gee, would you please fucking tell me? That is all I ask! I don’t care what the answer is, I just want to know, one way or the other.

I understand we are all busy…I work all day, getting ready to start a second job, I’m a full time student, and I have a pretty healthy social network. Yet I somehow find time to return calls and e-mails in a timely manner. Why he can’t do it is beyond me.

So I left him a message tonight, telling him what I just posted here. The ball’s in his court, and this time, I really don’t care if he doesn’t check it back because I don’t have the patience to deal with that shit. It’s rude, and most people have more respect for their friends than that.

Comments are closed.

