Skip to content

The "no answer" answer?

April 15, 2005

Okay, this is a serious issue, and men, please feel free to defend yourselves here. Julia, Sunshine and I are all dealing with this issue this week, and it’s fucking irritating.

All three of us have invited a guy (or two) to join us, coincidentally, to various baseball games. Seeing as most guys like baseball (with the exception of the guy I’m dating, which loses MAJOR points in my book), it seems that extending an invitation to these events is a natural thing to do. Sunshine and I both have two tickets to the Rockies game this weekend, I have tickets to the Rockies game on Friday, and Julia has tickets to the Mariners game on the 2nd. We each invited a guy (I invited two different ones to each), gave them a timeframe of, “if you want to go, let me know by ___” to date, none of us have received even an “I’m busy that day,” or “no thanks,” we’ve gotten nothing. Nil. Nada.

I personally find this very rude for these boys to act this way. Giving no answer is not an answer, even though, sure, eventually, we get the hint. I mean, really, what do they think, that we’ll be so hurt that they don’t want to go? I would hope that the two I invited know me well enough to know that they can say to me, “no, I don’t want to go,” and I won’t even care. I just want to know so that I can find someone else to go with me, yet I don’t want to hear, “why did you invite someone else, I was gonna go!” I don’t like wasting my money on buying tickets to do stuff if I’m not going to get a commitment out of someone to go with me.

So do they act this way because of the precedent set by other girls? What gives? Boys, help us out here.

Comments are closed.

